This is a question that I frequently ask myself as I grow throughout my journey, and I hope that you ask yourself the same thing just as frequently. But first lets look at the age old question, what is a pagan?
pa·gan/ˈpeɪ gən/ Show Spelled [pey-guh n] Show IPA noun 1. one of a people or community observing a polytheistic religion, as the ancient Romans and Greeks. Synonyms: polytheist. 2. a person who is not a Christian, Jew, or Muslim. Synonyms: heathen, gentile; idolator; nonbeliever. 3. an irreligious or hedonistic person. 4. a person deemed savage or uncivilized and morally deficient. Relevant Questions What Is Paganism? What Are Pagans? What Is A Pagan? What Does Pagan Mean? adjective 5. pertaining to the worship or worshipers of any religion that is neither Christian, Jewish, nor Muslim. Synonyms: heathen, heathenish, idolatrous, polytheistic. Antonyms: Christian, Jewish, Muslim, monotheistic. 6. of, pertaining to, or characteristic of pagans. 7. irreligious or hedonistic. Synonyms: unbelieving, godless, atheistic, agnostic; impious, profane, sacrilegious, unholy, ungodly. Antonyms: religious, pious, devout. 8. of a person deemed backward, savage, or uncivilized or morally or spiritually stunted. Synonyms: primitive, uncultivated, uncultured, heathenish, barbaric, barbarous, philistine. Antonyms: civilized, cultivated, cultured, urbane.
From Dictionary.com
Now when we look at the definition society gives us looking at the definition that a common website defines us as we can see that they demonize us, no pun intended, and not humanize us. Why is this? Something that comes to mind is the way Hollywood portrays us.

Lets take a look at witchcraft and paganism throughout the past years and how its portrayed through Hollywood and the press. First of all I am generalizing any form of media in the form of entertainment as "Hollywood" I'm not saying all these things are coming from Hollywood by any means. Anyway some of the shows and movies that I have watched or heard about that depict any sort of pagan or witchcraft;

Heres a list;
Sabrina the Teenage Witch
Secret Circle
The Season of The Witch
The Craft
The Wicker Man
Wizard of Oz
Snow White and the Seven Dwarves
Snow White and the Huntsman
Red Riding Hood
The Wizards of Waverly Place
Harry Potter Series
Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Bewitched
Lord Of The Rings Trilogy
Avatar
Some Scooby Doo
Practical Magic
Hocus Pocus
Buffy The Vampire Slayer
Charmed

This list could go on and on, now something that I have really found true to all if not most of these movies/tv shows is that all of these people were, "proverbial closet witches", meaning that nobody knew that they were into witchcraft but when they were "found out" it seemed to be a witch hunt all over again. I don't get why Hollywood portrays paganism and witchcraft in such a "closeted way". Its no wonder why people take years to come out of the "broom closet".

Also look at the definition of paganism that I supplied, if someone came up to me and told me that they were pagan, I would look it up and the place I would look it up first would be dictionary.com or wikipedia, it would turn me off right away. Not to mention all the derogitory words put into the definition, just the tone of the writer who wrote the definition would make anyones skin crawl.

The reason I brought up the definition of paganism and withcraft and the movies depicting thus is a testiment of what are we as pagans and witches are showing others of what we are as people and as a spiritual entity in the world of religion.

Now I dont want to point fingers but looking at the recent comments of some people that are leaving some of the comments that they are to the public pagans on the world wide web and specifically on youtube and some. They are becoming so rude. Also some pagans and witches are becoming so petty to start stealing peoples posts and ideas of their businesses and making carbon copies of their businesses. (Disclaimer: if this site is anywhere close to someone elses it is completely coincidental) Anyway look at how we view ourselves as pagans, look at how our paths are taking us. Are we the same as the others exactly, or are we just making an illusion to make ourselves seem that way.

I don't want to seem as if I am making a rant or anything but this whole blog post is coming from spirit and I don't actually plan on editing any of it. This is how I am feeling about the current situation of "what does pagan mean to me". Sometimes when I read the comments and blogs of others, I feel bad about even identifying as the same religion as they do. It is pathetic. If you really identify as pagan please take some time and really identify with who you are and what are your beliefs, also take a look at your past and realize why that no longer identifies with you.

So here is what paganism means to me. I am ging to do this in short little things so I dont have to worry about sentences;
I believe that paganism is more than a religion, its a way of life
being religious is being afraid of deity, being spiritual is being one with deity
I work with the energies of the earth to help aid me on my journey
Their is a divine energy that is both male and female that is also two seperate entities that created one another creating the goddess and the god, so they are the same but seperate
The rule of three, so mote it be
All religions are a way up the mountain
Your spiritual path is your own choice
A connection to nature and energies around you
Reincarnation and Past Lives affect you
Karmas a b*&%$
These are some of the things that paganism means to me and some of my beliefs of being pagan?
What are yours?

Ryan Danke
Healing Tree
Owner




Are you having problems with your relationships?
With others or yourself?
Would you like insight to the deeper problems?
Would you like it fast?

I am here to help!
Sign up for one of my sessions today and we can address those issues.

Also I can address other things than your relationships, just sign up and ask!



Leave a Reply.